SPECIAL TACTICS TRAINING SQUADRON MEMORIALIZES WITH PUSH-UPS   Leave a comment

For me, physical training has a definite spiritual dimension. It is voluntary submission of myself to physical and mental mortification, with the conscious intention of transforming my mind and body into a more effective instrument of moral virtue. I don’t train to look good in a mirror. I train to practice dissolving the ego, to step out of self-concerned thinking and right into the opposite — “no self” warrior mindset. I train because I need to be a full-on father and capable member of my community. I seek responsibility in order to take it and be the better man for it.

Air Force Special Operations Command today released a short video documenting the Special Tactics Training Squadron completing push-ups to memorialize Mark Forester, a combat controller who was killed in Afghanistan. AFSOC states “We will never forget our fallen! Our Special Tactics Training Squadron here at Hurlburt Field, Fla., does Memorial push-ups for every fallen special tactics Airman on the anniversary of their death.” To me, this is a very honorable and moving tribute. Honor goes to these fallen warriors, and to those warriors who remember them!

Leave a Reply

