GEAR REVIEW: RIP:60 SUSPENSION TRAINER   Leave a comment

RIP:60 SUSPENSION TRAINER
I have been doing suspension strap training for over a year now. What I like about suspension strap training is that it is a totally portable set-up that gives you a wide variety of resistance training (gravity, your bodyweight and your angle of incline) options. As a matter of fact, most of my suspension training exercises involve whole body movement, whether slow or explosive. On this last point, suspension training can also be a little easier on the joints than movements involving impact – and here I am especially thinking about knees. Anyway, I initially learned suspension strap training techniques with a TRX set at my local YMCA. TRX is a very good product and I have nothing but positive things to say about it. That said, I couldn’t afford to buy my own. Then one day I was walking through Menard’s (of all places) and they had RIP:60 sets on clearance for $55. I looked it over, determined it looked a lot like a TRX set, and brought it home. My RIP:60 set has become a mainstay of my training regimen during the work week. During lunch, I can change and go to a local parking lot and get in a total beat-down workout and be back at my desk within the hour. It is an understatement to say I am very happy with the price, durability and utility of the RIP:60 product. I wish I had bought three or four more to hand out to friends. In terms of comparison to the TRX, I personally would say they are very comparable. They have some differences in design of the loops at the ends of the strap. RIP:60 has a large nylon encased loop with a movable hard plastic handle. This allows a lot of different set-ups for both hands and feet. If somebody sends me a TRX, I’ll do a more detailed comparison. For now, I can tell you that a RIP:60 is a solid buy and a very valuable addition to your workout gear. You can check out the RIP:60 Suspension Trainer and linked products HERE.

Leave a Reply

