DELANEY’S WORKOUT OF THE DAY – AUGUST 20   Leave a comment

I’m still recovering a little from an awesome blowout session I had Saturday with one of my team members who is training to qualify for USAF Pararescue Jumper. We ran 3.1 miles, including a 0.9 mile 300′ vertical ascent segment, and dropped at regular intervals to complete the entire MARSOC A&S Short Card. That’s 120 push-ups in all, 120 ab exercise reps (e.g. Hello Dollies & Flutter Kicks), 120 lower body calisthenic reps (e.g. Mountain Climbers, Lunges & Squats), and 40 8-Count Burpees. Afterwards I went home and ran another 3.2 miles and did some pull-up pyramids:

Regular Pull-ups: 1,2,3,3,2,1
Chin-ups: 1,2,1
Wide Pull-ups: 1,2,2,1
Commando Pull-ups: 1,2,3,3,2,1
…next time I need to add in some Close-grip Pull-ups.

Yesterday I did a morning 3.2 mile run (28:10) and a night 3.2 mile run (29:20).

Today, I got stuck in a “brown bag” lunch meeting, and worked out the entire 50 minutes with a resistance band on upper body stuff. Hey, seriously, if you haven’t checked out resistance bands, do it! They are affordable, totally portable, and you can get an awesome workout out of them right in your chair during an otherwise sedentary meeting. I need to write up a very positive review of my resistance band. After work I came home, threw on the 30 lb. weighted vest, and ran 3.2 miles again (32:17). Today was a good day!

Tom Delaney
GRTFC Trainer

Leave a Reply

